SPCAP is composed of the heads of child and adolescent psychiatry programs and seeks to aggressively promote the field of academic child and adolescent psychiatry.


Welcome to Society of Professors of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry (SPCAP). The Society of Professors helps heads of child and adolescent psychiatry strengthen their existing programs, patient care, and research. The Society of Professors provides a forum for discussion and exchange of ideas between the child and adolescent psychiatry program directors in medical schools in the United States and elsewhere for the purposes of:

  • Enhancing the growth and development of child and adolescent psychiatry as a discipline;
  • Strengthening graduate and postgraduate medical education, patient care and research in the area of child and adolescent psychiatry; and
  • Providing appropriate liaison between academic child and adolescent psychiatry as represented by the membership and administrative persons and organizations in medical education (e.g., departments of psychiatry, medical school deans, and specialty boards), government, research, and health care delivery to forward our objectives.

The strength of the SPCAP is in its collaborations, fellowship, and advocacy efforts that have a positive impact on our profession.

SPCAP celebrated its 50th anniversary in New Orleans.  Thank you to everyone who attended the meeting!  

Be sure to mark your calendar for our annual dessert reception during AACAP's annual meeting in San Antonio that is tentatively scheduled for Thursday, October 22, 2015.  Please plan to attend and catch up with your colleagues. 

If you are interested in learning more about SPCAP, please contact Earl Magee (societyofprofessors@gmail.com) or me.

Karen D. Wagner, MD, PhD



Image result for vote icon 
Name Change Vote
Did you vote?
Didn't receive the surveymonkey.com email?
Request it by clicking here. 
Vote ends: July 3, 2015, 11:59:59 p.m. 

Executive Committee Conference Call
Friday, July 10, 2015, 1:00-2:00 pm EDT
50th Anniversary Celebration
April 30 - May 3, 2015
(presentations uploaded)
"Challenges Facing 
Division Directors"

Members attending the
50th Anniversary Celebration Dinner
(photo compliments of Jim Harris, MD)

Welcome new members . . .  

Sandra DeJong, MD
Interim Division Chief, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Cambridge Health Alliance

Jay Giedd, MD
Division Director, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, University of California, Davis

John Huxsahl, MD
Division Chair, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, The Mayo Clinic

Ajitkumar Jetmalani, MD
Director, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Oregon Health & Science University

Alexander Kolevzon, MD
Director, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry, Mount Sinai Health System, Icahn School of Medicine

Moira Rynn, MD
Director, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Columbia University

Pamela Siller, MD
Division Director, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Westchester Medical Center